What’s Buzzing?: Chris Panzer

Standard

The current Champion of the Philippines stops by and talks about his Triple L debut in ResGal, his title defense with Evan Carleaux, and the dark side of the Motor City Angel.

From accomplishments, beginnings, endings… anything is a buzz. “What’s Buzzing?” is where Bee sits down with exciting and interesting people and catches up on their happenings!


2019 for Chris Panzer was… eventful, to say the least.

 

 

Once the beloved Motor City Angel, Panzer joined the ranks of Mr. Sy’s Group of Talents (MSG) and grew his demonic horns, raising hell upon the PWR (Philippine Wrestling Revolution) ring. With the attitude change and newfound comrades, he finally got what he wanted during PWR Homecoming, defeating Quatro & Jeff Cobb in a spectacular triple threat match to become the first and only three-time Kampeon ng Pilipinas (Champion of the Philippines).

 

 

He rang in the new decade with plans of aiming higher.

And he did, debuting in London Lucha League (Triple L)’s “Get Lucha Done” as the first Filipino-trained wrestler performing in the European region. Battling some of the best that Triple L has to offer in Tengu’s International Chaos, he has shown what the Filipino Strong Style is all about – hard-hitting and resilient as HELL.

With the world currently to a halt, I get to catch up with Panzer to gather his thoughts on his history-making visit and to get a glimpse of the future of the PWR Championship.


Hannah Bee: With the enhanced community quarantine going on and with a postponed title defense against Evan Carleaux, how is Chris Panzer preparing for his next matches while everything is placed on a halt?

Chris Panzer: Where do I even start? While Evan Carleaux is busy drinking his ass off and looking like a complete jackass doing his TikToks, I’m out here working my ass off, as always. Gyms closed down? I make a way. I started replicating my gym routines using buckets filled with water and a plank of wood.

 

 

I am fucking killing it and I believe Evan could do the same if he did not weigh himself down with his stupid Naughty Boyfriends. But hey, he has his ways, he might have some tricks on his sleeve, but I have MSG and I am unstoppable.


Bee: After your much anticipated turn to the bad side last year, the fans have noticed how comfortable you are being the Dimunyu [Demon]. Can you say that you are having more fun in the dark side or are you fonder of your “Motor City Angel” days?

 

 

Panzer: Fun? HELL YES! There was always this demon lurking in me, waiting to come out. As time progressed, my inner demon got hungrier and eager to ascend into this world and take over me. I’m happy it did come out during the biggest show here in the PH wrestling scene, WrevolutionX.

 

 

I’m enjoying this… dismantling my opponents, getting the victory, and just dominating PWR with MSG. Sure, the Motor City Angel did have monumental achievements like being one of the few to open the gates for the international wrestling scene and winning the richest prize in PWR twice. But now that I’m in my natural form, I’m taking things to a grander, greater scale. *wink*


Bee: What did you feel coming out of the curtain of Resistance Gallery, when you were about to wrestle on your first match in Europe?

// WATCH: Panzer defines Filipino Strong Style to the London Lucha League faithful. //

 

Panzer: Ahh yes. The legendary Resistance Gallery. This was a place famous for all the big matches and big names. It had that gritty feeling. It wasn’t too big nor too small, but it was packed to the wall with an intimate crowd who’s energy was something else. They like to chant songs and catchy tunes and incorporate them with the wrestlers, think of European Football fans chanting for their home team. Plus I was about to lock horns with a lot of talented wrestlers. They were guys who the crowd knew.

I have to admit, I was a bit anxious. Then I remembered, I am Chris Panzer, and my PWR Championship was about to show her face inside the ResGal, in front of the British crowd.

 

 

I took a short moment in that tight locker room to call on my dark side, then it was showtime. The crowd felt me out first. A guy from The Philippines holding a Championship title. I might have slipped a bit while entering the ring… something that happens a lot when making my debut in a new country… but the moment that bell rang, I showed off my stuff, kicked ass, then the crowd started to make noise for your Kampeon ng Pilipinas.

 

 

Shoutout to the loudest ones in the room, my girl Cza with her friends, and Hannah with her friend. I was told it was the first time they had that kind of cheering noise in the ResGal. Pinoy pride!


Bee: What was the greatest takeaway you had with your time training and performing in the London School of Lucha Libre?

 

 

Panzer: If you do something as often as you can, you will get good at it in a short amount of time.

I was in awe of how often you get the opportunity to train there. If you want to train everyday, you can! I mean, commuting there is so easy compared to here in the PH, I’m sure given the time, location, and other circumstances like they have in London, all of our guys will be at it as much their bodies can. But seeing guys who just started training in less than three months, have a debut match and perform at a high caliber, really makes me wish we have it here too.

 

 

I know we’re still in our early years, and they have different places to train in, all the available veteran wrestlers and trainers, a lot of wrestling schools/promotions to train in. Some guys even have a ring in their backyard.

I can’t wait until the pro wrestling culture here in the PH grows and evolves. Our guys are good, really good, that’s why a lot of international eyes are on us and are impressed on how far we’ve gone and worked hard for this scene given the limited resources. But imagine if we had more. I can’t wait for our guys to experience that, it’s a very motivating environment. It’ll come for sure, just a little more waiting time and a whole lot of support from the fans.


Bee: As one of the biggest representatives of Philippine wrestling, what do you think international fans will like about our scene?

Panzer: The energy of our crowd! I’m very happy to say that from my travels around Asia and Europe, the pro wrestling scene here makes waves. They’ve seen the PWR footage and word of mouth from guys who worked here in The PH, a lot have interest in working here. Not to mention how creative our crowds can be. Energetic, witty, and respectful. Every wrestler dreams of this kind of crowd and we have it!

 

// WATCH: Chris Panzer vs. Robbie Eagles at PWR: Love at First Fight, Panzer’s latest PWR Championship defense as per writing. //

 

Another is our performers, like I said, we have limited resources but we have a lot of guys who can hang with the international scene. Not only do we have guys who have great minds for the business, but we also have great characters and showmen that offer a different creative taste. We Filipinos can be very entertaining, and once you throw out our style with the other countries, we really have the potential to stand out and get noticed.

Energetic, witty, and respectful. Every wrestler dreams of this kind of crowd and we have it [in the Philippines]!


Bee: If you can recommend a London School of Lucha Libre (LSLL) wrestler and a PWR wrestler to “exchange” places for some time, who will it be and why?

Panzer: I’d say start off with JDL (Jake de Leon). He has that energy, athleticism, and intensity that the LSLL crowd will definitely sink their teeth into. On the mic, on the ground, in the air, the guy can tango with anyone and do a memorable performance.

Exchange him with Malik. We haven’t seen intensity and hard hitting moves like Malik. I also got to work with him in a match. I haven’t seen a wrestling mind like that ever. He’s different and needs to be seen by the Revo-nation.


Bee: When and where will we see Chris Panzer soon?

Panzer Title Kiss

Panzer: Well if it wasn’t for this terrible pandemic, I was on my way to get another flag under my PWR Championship belt. But hey, it is what it is. Hopefully things will turn out better and everything will be okay so we can resume with doing PWR shows and me kicking ass together with MSG.


Chris Panzer, ever since his angelic days, has always been willing to move heaven through hell for what he believes in. Not only the PWR locker room should be on high alert with his presence… but the whole world.

And the fans? We will always be proud of the handsome son of a gun.


Comments and reactions? I can’t wait to hear them over at @BeeHeynah or at @HBRambles! Consider supporting ya girl and buy her a coffee (only if you want to!). Hope you enjoyed reading it!


Thank you Chris Panzer for taking these questions like a champ! I look forward in seeing you again – whether in the Philippines or in the UK!

hannah bee


See more of Chris Panzer!

Facebook.

Twitter.

YouTube.

Instagram.

If there are any issues with my photo crediting, please contact me and I’d correct it as soon as I could!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.